Jeffrey Kripal – “Giving Voice to the Impossible”

Jeff Carreira Leave a Comment

Spiritual Illuminations with Jeff Carreira
Jeffrey Kripal - "Giving Voice to the Impossible"
/

Jeffrey Kripal, author and professor of philosophy and religious thought at Rice University talks with Jeff Carreira about his ground breaking work in Religious Studies. Following in the tradition of William James, Kripal is looking for spiritual illumination at the edges of the main stream. Kripal recognizes that the status quo resists new insights and unusual experiences and keeps them from being recognized by hiding and discrediting them. These experiences can be found though, especially if you look for them in places where you don’t expect to find them.

Listen to this interview to find out about how spiritual experiences are showing up in unusual places and about the courageous individuals who never stop trying to give voice to the impossible.

“The world is not simply composed of physical causes strung together in strictly materialistic and mechanical fashion requiring, say, a physics for their complete explanation. The world is also a series of meaningful signs requiring a hermeneutics for their decipherment.”

~ Jeffrey Kripal

“The history of psychical phenomena is an untapped source of insight into the sacred.”

~ Jeffrey Kripal

Resources
Listen and Subscribe

Image
Are you looking for ongoing spiritual transformation and the support of an inspired global community?
Become a member
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments